Guide to Laws About Noise in California
If that party next door is getting out of hand (or your party is getting lit and you hear the cops at the door), here’s what you need to know about the law.
What are the general noise restrictions in California?
Throughout the state of California it is a crime to create a “disturbance of the peace” by maliciously creating a “loud and unreasonable noise.” Violations may result in up to 90 days in county jail and/or fine of up to $400.1Penal Code 415
It is also a crime to cause or maintain a “public nuisance” which interferes with the “comfortable enjoyment of life or property” by a community.2Penal Code 370, 372 Violations of this are generally a misdemeanor, with a penalty of up to 6 months in jail and/or fine of up to $1000.3Penal Code 19
And a person causing excessive noise can also be sued for a public nuisance, where many people are affected, or for a “private” nuisance where the noise only affects one individual.4Civil Code 3479, 3480, 3481
In California, cars may not make noise louder than 95 decibels, and motorcycles may not make noise louder than 80 decibels.5CA Veh Code Sec 27151, 27200-27207
Is helicopter noise regulated?
No. But there are proposals to do that.
Does my landlord have any responsibility for noise issues?
Yes, possibly. See our Guide to Tenants Rights in California – Minimum Standards for Rentals.
Contact your local officials about noise problems. For significant, ongoing issues, you may want to contact a lawyer.
|↑1||Penal Code 415|
|↑2||Penal Code 370, 372|
|↑3||Penal Code 19|
|↑4||Civil Code 3479, 3480, 3481|
|↑5||CA Veh Code Sec 27151, 27200-27207|